Saskatchewan Roughriders

The Saskatchewan Roughriders Football Club are a member of the Canadian Football League. They have won 4 total Grey Cups (1966, 1989, 2007, 2013) since they were established in 1910. The are based out of Regina, Saskatchewan and play out of Mosaic Stadium a 33,500 seat stadium opened in 2017, which replaced Mosaic Stadium at Taylor Field which had been home to the Roughriders since 1936.

Some of the teams most notable players include QB Ron Lancaster, RB George Reed, K Dave Ridgeway, OL Roger Aldag who all have their numbers retired. The first four members of the team to have their number retired where TE/C Mel Becket, OL Mario DeMarco, OL Ray Syrnyk, DE Gordon Sturtridge who had all tragically died in a plane crash on December 9th, 1956.

Former Roughriders players and personnel who are in the CFL Hall of Fame include Neil Joseph “Piffles” Taylor, Brian Timmins, Al Ritchie, Eddie “Dynamite” James, Dean Griffing, Clair Warner, Martin Ruby, Ron Atchison, George Reed, Gerry James, Ron Lancaster, Don McPherson, Bob Kramer, Ed McQuarters, Ted Urness, Ken Preston, Eagle Keys, Ken Charlton, Bill Baker, Tom Clements, Blill Clarke, Al Benecick, “Gluey” Hugh Campbell, Roger Aldag, Ray Elgaard, Dave Ridgeway, Cal Murphy, Willie Pless, Bobby Jurasin, Greg Battle, Tom Shepherd, Alondra Johnson, Don Narcisse, Don Matthews, Jack Abendschan, Tyrone Jones, Gene Makowsky, and Eddie Davis.

I believe it’s only a matter of time until Don Narcisse has his number retired by the team. Narcisse holds the CFL and professional football records for most seasons with pass receptions in all games (11) and most consecutive regular season games with a pass reception (216).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.